top of page
Lummi football Jim Sandusky

Lummi Nation football coach Jim Sandusky at Blackhawks Field. 

File Photo: Doug Lange 

Lummi Nation's Sandusky on WIAA Football

Seeding Committee

May 30, 2019 

- Doug Lange Bellingham

Lummi Nation athletic director and football coach Jim Sandusky will serve on the Washington Interscholastic Activities Association Football Seeding Committee for the 2019 season. The long-time leader of the Blackhawks was announced as part of 50 total committee members divided into six classifications by the WIAA Thursday. 


The committee will be tasked with seeding the 16-teams in each WIAA Classification (eight-teams for the 1B classification) for the State Football Championships. While the committee has no bearing on which teams qualify for the state tournament, once the field is determined, they will rank and place teams in the first round of the bracket based on their performance throughout the regular season and playoffs.


In their second year of existence, the Football Seeding Committee  expands from 3 to 6 sub-committees. The sub-committees are affiliated with the 6 different classifications in the state. Sandusky will serve on the 1B sub-committee.  

1B Seeding Committee 
1. Jim Sandusky (Lummi)
2. Buck Marsh* (Darrington)
3. Phil Bunkowske (Evergreen Lutheran)
4. Brian Macy (Naselle)
5. Brian Bailey* (Entiat)
6. Clark Pauls (Wellpinit)
7. Kyle Kimble* (Pomeroy)
8. Matthew Evans* (Media)
9. Ryland Spencer* (Media)

2B Seeding Committee 
1. Jon Davidson* (Toutle Lake)
2. Tom Sanchez* (South Bend)
3. Tim Rasmussen (Lake Roosevelt)
4. Jim Holman* (Asotin)
5. Aaron Van Tuyl* (Media)
6. Matthew Evans* (Media)
7. Ryland Spencer* (Media)

1A Seeding Committee
1. Paul Lagerstadt (South Whidbey)
2. Dan Winter (Montesano)
3. John Lambert (LaCenter)
4. Cody Lamb* (La Salle)
5. Elia Ala'ilima-Daley* (Cascade)
6. Jerry King (Freeman)
7. Bill Marsh* (Former Coach)
8. Ryland Spencer* (Media)

2A Seeding Committee 
1. Dan Teeter * (Lakewood)
2. Marty Parkhurst (Orting)
3. Jeff Weible* (North Kitsap)
4. Jeff Johnson (W.F. West)
5. Shawn Perkins* (Mark Morris)
6. Bryan Bailey (Prosser)
7. Jeff Chandler (Cheney)
8. Ryland Spencer* (Media)

3A Seeding Committee 
1. Mark Perry* (Snohomish)
2. Kyle McKenna (Former Coach)
3. Monte Kohler* (O'Dea)
4. Ross Filkins* (Peninsula)
5. Jason Silbaugh (Bonney Lake)
6. Adam Mathieson* (Mountain View)
7. Paul Kautzman (Mt. Spokane)
8. Anna Harris (Kennewick)
9. Ryland Spencer* (Media)

4A Seeding Committee 
1. Robert Polk (Everett SD)
2. John Applegate (Lake Washington SD)
3. Kelly Susee (Puyallup)
4. Tony Davis (Tahoma)
5. Jon Eagle (Camas)
6. Jim Beesen (Wenatchee)
7. John Barrington* (Mead)
8. Steve Graff (Chiawana)
9. Ryland Spencer* (Media)


*Served on the Seeding Committee in 2018

Committee members, consisting of current and former coaches as well as athletic directors and members of the media were selected by the WIAA using an application process.  Other noted names with local/conference ties include a Northwest Conference representative in Lakewood football coach Dan Teeter in the 2A. Mountain View AD and football coach Adam Mathieson is on the 3A committee. Mathieson is a former AD at Meridian High School, a former head football coach at Ferndale and he played and coached at Western Washington University

The Seeding Committee will meet before the season begins on August 19, and again at the conclusion of Week 10 to assign seeding position. 

- Doug Lange 

*Information from the WIAA via press release used in this story.

Here's the logo for The Doug Lange Network
bottom of page