top of page
Matt McLain Bellingham Bells

Bells 2B Matt McLain has been named the 2018 WCL’s Top Prospect. PHOTO: Bellingham Bells

17 Bells Named to 2018 All-West Coast League Teams

August 22, 2018 


Seventeen Bellingham Bells have been honored with West Coast League post-season accolades, WCL Commissioner Rob Neyer announced today. Shortstop Ernie Yake (Gonzaga), along with pitchers Nick Nastrini (UCLA) and Theron Kay (Cal-State Northridge) were named to the All-WCL first team, while third baseman Zach Needham (Lewis & Clark State) and pitchers Taylor Davis (Gonzaga) and Justin Armbruester (Pacific Lutheran) were named to the All-WCL second team.

Shortstop Matt McLain (UCLA) was named the WCL’s Top Prospect. McLain joined the Bells in July after being drafted in the first round by the Arizona Diamondbacks (25th overall) and deciding to forego professional baseball to attend UCLA.

First year owner Glenn Kirkpatrick was also honored by the WCL as the league’s executive of the year.

For the second season in a row, the Bells also took home the Jim Dietz Sportsmanship Award, an award voted on by West Coast League coaches to recognize the team which best exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship on the diamond.

“We are humbled to have so many Bells honored by the West Coast League,” Bells’ general manager Stephanie Morrell said. “The talent in this league continues to improve and it is an honor to have so many players recognized as the league’s top talent. We are proud of all the individuals honored and also of our entire team for their efforts this summer.”


All-WCL First Team

  • Ernie Yake, Shortstop (Gonzaga)

  • Nick Nastrini, Starting Pitcher (UCLA)

  • Theron Kay, Relief Pitcher (Cal State - Northridge)

All-WCL Second Team

  • Zach Needham, Third Base (Lewis & Clark State)

  • Taylor Davis, Relief Pitcher (Gonzaga)

  • Justin Armbruester, Relief Pitcher (Pacific Lutheran University)

Honorable Mention

  • Matt McLain, Shortstop (UCLA)

  • Connor Mack, OF (Cal-Berkeley)

  • Guthrie Morrison, OF (Gonzaga)

  • Jordan Stoner, OF (Tennessee-Martin)

  • Matt James, DH/C (Yakima Valley College)

  • Grant Holman, P/IF (Cal-Berkeley)

  • Nick Hull, P (Grand Canyon)

  • Wesley Moore, P (Cal-State Northridge)

  • Davis Baillie, P (Washington State)

  • Ben Leeper, P (Oklahoma State)

  • Carson Olson, P (Cal-Berkeley)


Here's the logo for The Doug Lange Network
bottom of page